Peace of Mind

Have you ever been uprooted from your home? The place you feel safe? Regardless of how crappy it might be?

I remember when I was in early elementary school, my nine-member family was squished into a 2-bedroom basement house. This isn’t my house, but it looked a lot like this. The post I got this from can be found here.

I always thought someone meant to finish the house, but they just left the top off. But it turns out that in Denver, there is a group looking to put a historic marker on this place. It was supposed to be a quick housing solution for returning soldiers.

I hated this house. It was too crowded for my older siblings who were growing into stinky teenagers. It was old. It was dark. It was dirty. It was crowded and messy. Too many people. Too many things.

But I loved the giant lilac bushes that dotted the back yard. I loved the sounds of summer. I loved making mud pies in the backyard, where nobody cared what the grass looked like. I loved my neighbors and the fact that we could run in the street. There were only 500 people in town. Everybody knew everybody. I felt safe.

And then, one day, we moved.

That was the first move I remembered, the second of nine I would go through until I graduated from college. Some by choice, some not so much.

Never in one place for long. Never creating deep, lasting friendships. Never knowing where we would go next.

I can’t imagine what my students go through when they leave all they know and have to give up everything familiar.

When you’re little–or even when you’re big–this loss of control can make you a little angry. A little frustrated. A little stressed. A little sad. Or even a lot.

And when that happens, it gets in the way of school and friendships and life.

And thus the grant.

And… (drumroll, please!)

My colleague Suzy King just won a grant for our class!

It’s called: Building Resiliency Skills through Mindfulness Education.

We soon will become Mindfulness experts. The program is through the Center for Mindful Learning in Burlington, Vt. The center has done this work before, with students who are much like ours.

And we think it’s just what our students need….

Our goals are to:

  • Increase trust among our students;
  • Build resiliency skills;
  • Increase confidence.

And all that in 5 minutes a day!

Think back to when you were a child and experienced loss. And then think about how you wished someone were there to help you deal with it.

Take a look at their other successes here, on their website.

Wish us luck! Or maybe just wish us mindfulness….

-

Leave a Reply

