What they bring with them…

This video attached to the original post of this is the beginning of a series that I will be doing on schools in our students’ native countries. All ELL Teaching Tips videos can be found here: https://sites.google.com/a/bsdvt.org/ell-teaching-tips/contact

“The educator has the duty of not being neutral.”
― Paulo Freire, We Make the Road by Walking: Conversations on Education and Social Change

Beth's Blog

If you have new Americans (that’s our lingo for ELL students here in Burlington) in your classroom, you likely have preconceived notions of where they came from or what they know.

So, let me tell you a story about my preconceived notions.

I had a student who came in high school. I really thought this student had never been to school. Perhaps she had to stay home and take care of siblings. It just really didn’t seem like she had ever held a pencil or knew what to do with a book.

Later I did a home visit. I asked about many things, such as early childhood development questions, what age she began to walk and talk, whether the parent had any concerns… We also asked about prior education.

Her mother had none.

So that then makes wheels turn and I start believing that my suppositions are true; my student…

View original post 233 more words

Leave a Reply

