Waiting for the other shoe…

All great changes are preceded by chaos.

— DEEPAK CHOPRA

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 11.04.42 AMI wrote earlier this week about presenting in front of the Burlington School Board. Here’s how that went:

http://www.tubechop.com/watch/4889315

What we saw is that people who generally support us had kind words to say. Those who don’t stayed quiet. Pretty much what we expect to happen.

But I wonder if I’ve started a storm. And I wonder whether that’s a good thing.

Apparently interim superintendent Howard Smith was listening to what I said. He doesn’t know my name. He has never really spoken to me, but he wrote my boss the next day, asking for a list of students who did not have full schedules, as well as what my principal intended to do about it. Not having known about the presentation, she felt broadsided.

She sighed, shrugged and told me she had no money to fix this problem.

I understand.

But our presentation was not about her.

Or about my other supervisor.

It was about equity.  And systems. And life for these most fragile of humans entering our community and not being fully embraced.

As I told my principal, I did not say anything there that I have not already said directly to anyone who will listen.

So I hope you can take a few moments to listen to our presentation. I cut it down to just our part. And share your views. Not just here, but in other spaces as well.

Because it’s the right thing to do.

“Washing one’s hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral. ”
Paulo Freire

One thought on “Waiting for the other shoe…

Leave a Reply

