We get by with a little help…

I’m going to start by saying thank you. Thank you to my sister and to my two sweet friends without whom I would not have the tools I desire to teach.

DonorsChoose is an AMAZING tool for teachers that allows us to ask for what we want and for people who love us to help us get it.

And we just got toys.

Yep. Toys.

Money, paper and plastic coins.

Tangrams.

Fraction circles.

Dice.

Dominoes.

TONS of math manipulatives. And we let our students play.

What must it be like to grow up where school is memorization? Where 60 students in a room is not unusual?

And we get to change it.

In the words of my mother, also in her time a glorious supporter of my hairbrained projects, “Isn’t it just grand?”

Yeah, Mama. It is!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

